Home Page

India Banknote Gallery | Indian Banknotes For Sale

India 50 Rupees (2005)

Item Code: IN-90

Front: National Emblem of India; Mahatma Gandhi;
Back: The Parliament House of India (Sansad Bhavan); Watermark: Portrait of Mahatma Gandhi.

Indian Currency Gallery

This picture is for reference only. It may not be exactly the same image as the one
for sale in the
pricelist or this may be a gallery item (not for sale).

Original Size: 147 x 73 mm

National Emblem of India

The National Emblem of India is derived from the time of the Emperor Ashoka. The emblem is a
replica of the Lion of Sarnath, near Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. The national emblem of India was
adapted by the Government of India on 26th January 1950. The National emblem (out of the four lions
only three lions are visible and the fourth one is hidden from the view) symbolises power, courage and
confidence. It rests on a circular abacus. At the centre of the Abacus, there is a Chakra (wheel) which
symbolises the Dharma Chakra (Eternal wheel of law). The abacus is girded by four smaller animals,
guardians of the four directions: The Lion of the North, The Elephant of the East, The galloping Horse of
the South and The Bull of the West, separated by intervening wheels over a bell shaped lotus. The word
Satyameva Jayate (truth alone triumphs) have been inscribed in Devanagari script. The National emblem
of India is the official seal of the President of India and Central and State Governments. The National
emblem is used only for official purposes and commands highest respect and loyalty.
It is also a symbol of independent India's identity and sovereignty.

India Banknote Gallery | India Banknotes For Sale

All photos, images, pictures, scans, designs, texts and other content of
Banknotes.com are the property of Audrius Tomonis &

Copyright Banknotes.com bank note All rights reserved.