Home Page

Ceylon Banknote Gallery | Sri Lanka Banknotes For Sale

Ceylon - Sri Lanka 10 Rupees 1975 (1973-1977)

Item Code: LK-74Ab

Front: Statue of Parakramabahu I in Polonnaruwa. Back: Detail of the left side sculpted guardstone (Muragala) with serpent king Naga Raja carrying symbols of abundance at the beginning of the steps at Polonnaruwa's Vatadage. Naga Raja is a guardian of wealth and harbinger of prosperity. Watermark: Chinthe ("Chinze") lion. Security features: Watermark. Running serial numbers that somehow fluoresce yellow under ultraviolet light. Predominant colour: Green. Artist: BWC. Engraver: No info. Signatures: Felix R. Dias Bandaranaike (Minister of Finance, 3 September 1975 - 18 May 1977); Herbert E. Tennekoon (Governor, CBC, 1 July 1971 - 22 January 1979. Appointed by Sirimavo Bandaranaike). Security thread: Solid, 0.5 mm thin, embedded. Printing method: Intaglio. Issuer: Central Bank of Ceylon. Date of Issue: 6 October 1975. Total issue: N/a. Withdrawn from circulation: 1979. Material: Cotton paper. Printer: Bradbury, Wilkinson & Co. Ld., New Malden, Surrey, England.

Ceylonian Currency Gallery

This picture is for reference only. It may not be exactly the same image as the one for sale in the Price List or in our Store, and its serial
numbers, signatures, dates etc. may vary, or this may be our
Museum's Gallery item (some gallery items may not be available for sale).

Dimensions: 140 x 69 mm

Texts: Central Bank of Ceylon. Ten Rupees.

Sri Lanka Banknote Gallery | Ceylonian Banknotes For Sale

All texts, images, other materials and content on this entire website are the property of Banknotes.com and its owners.

Copyright bank note Banknotes.com bank note All rights reserved.