Home Page

Home page              
Currency Gallery: South Orkney Islands
Antarctica Index
World Index
Banknotes for Sale
Consignment List
Banknotes Wanted
Note Evaluation
Banknote Grading
Search Entire Site
Numismatic Books

              The South Orkney Islands are a group of islands in the Southern
Ocean. TheSouth Orkneys consist of four major islands -
Coronation, Signy, Powell and Laurie. The islands have been
administered as part of British Antarctic Territory since 1962 and
prior to this as a Falkland Islands Dependency. Under the Antarctic
Treaty 1959, the Islands' sovereignty is neither recognized nor
disputed by the signatories and they are free for use by any
signatory for non-military use. The islands are claimed by
Argentina which has maintained a permanent base there since
No private issues of South Orkney Islands banknotes have
found. If there's any activity on the island, the British Pound is
used as a local paper currency.

              Some of the following links will lead you away from Banknotes.com. Please
bookmark this page or memorize

South Orkney Islands Info | Photos of South Orkney Islands | History of S.O.I.

                Copyright bank notes Banknotes.comTM bank note All Rights Reserved.